Go Back   Forum Care Forums > Development Reference Area > SEO & Traffic Generation

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Possibly OT - Invitation
Old
  (#1)
Adrienne Boswell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Possibly OT - Invitation - 06-02-2007, 08:51 PM

I am the administrator for nextBlock.com, a directory of local
businesses. Thanks to a lot of the regulars in this group, we are
doing okay for ourselves and our customers. For example, googling for
Glendale Tires first result is nextBlock.com. We do NOT sell
products, only show a link to the merchants website, and or their
physical address.

We also send out a newsletter to about 10,000 opt-in recipients every
week. That newsletter usually features newer merchants by theme.
We're doing this to help the small business owner, and giving our
recipients possibilities. I try to find unique products that our
recipients might not have thought of.

As an independent web developer (I work from home, too), I always list
my clients on nextBlock.com, and if they happen to fit that weeks
topic, they might get featured in the newsletter as well.

I am inviting you to list your business (products/services), or your
client's business (with their permission, of course), with
nextBlock.com. At this time, we are US only. Maybe if there enough
requests, we could go international.

Thanks in advance ... back to our regularly scheduled program.

--
Adrienne Boswell at work
Administrator nextBlock.com
http://atlas.nextblock.com/files/
Please respond to the group so others can share

   
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Re: Possibly OT - Invitation
Old
  (#2)
Denise
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Possibly OT - Invitation - 06-02-2007, 08:51 PM

"Adrienne Boswell" <EMAIL REMOVED> wrote in message
news:EMAIL REMOVED oups.com...
>I am the administrator for nextBlock.com, a directory of local
> businesses. Thanks to a lot of the regulars in this group, we are
> doing okay for ourselves and our customers. For example, googling for
> Glendale Tires first result is nextBlock.com. We do NOT sell
> products, only show a link to the merchants website, and or their
> physical address.
>
> We also send out a newsletter to about 10,000 opt-in recipients every
> week. That newsletter usually features newer merchants by theme.
> We're doing this to help the small business owner, and giving our
> recipients possibilities. I try to find unique products that our
> recipients might not have thought of.
>
> As an independent web developer (I work from home, too), I always list
> my clients on nextBlock.com, and if they happen to fit that weeks
> topic, they might get featured in the newsletter as well.
>
> I am inviting you to list your business (products/services), or your
> client's business (with their permission, of course), with
> nextBlock.com. At this time, we are US only. Maybe if there enough
> requests, we could go international.
>
> Thanks in advance ... back to our regularly scheduled program.
>
> --
> Adrienne Boswell at work
> Administrator nextBlock.com
> http://atlas.nextblock.com/files/
> Please respond to the group so others can share


>

Hi Adrienne,

The link in your sig, http://atlas.nextblock.com/files/ returns a 500 error;
and the homepage is down.

best,
Denise


   
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Re: Possibly OT - Invitation
Old
  (#3)
Jezsta Web Productions
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Possibly OT - Invitation - 06-02-2007, 08:51 PM

"Adrienne Boswell" <EMAIL REMOVED> wrote in message
news:EMAIL REMOVED oups.com...
<snip>

> I am inviting you to list your business (products/services), or your
> client's business (with their permission, of course), with
> nextBlock.com. At this time, we are US only. Maybe if there enough
> requests, we could go international.


It gave a 404 return.

Stacey

--
SEO - Web Design
http://jezsta.com/
Article - Internet Marketing Wholesale Drop Shipping
http://jezsta.com/internet-marketing...opshipping.htm


   
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Re: Possibly OT - Invitation
Old
  (#4)
Adrienne Boswell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Possibly OT - Invitation - 06-02-2007, 08:51 PM


canadafred wote:
> > I am inviting you ...

>
> Yep, I had a feeling this guy was a spammer


Nope, it's an invitation, just like I said. I've been reading and
posting to this group since 2001.

And... I'm not a guy

--
Adrienne Boswell at work
Administrator nextBlock.com
http://atlas.nextblock.com/files/
Please respond to the group so others can share

   
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Re: Possibly OT - Invitation
Old
  (#5)
Adrienne Boswell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Possibly OT - Invitation - 06-02-2007, 08:51 PM


Denise wote:
> "Adrienne Boswell" <EMAIL REMOVED> wrote in message
> news:EMAIL REMOVED oups.com...
> >
> > I am inviting you to list your business (products/services), or your
> > client's business (with their permission, of course), with


> >

> Hi Adrienne,
>
> The link in your sig, http://atlas.nextblock.com/files/ returns a 500 error;
> and the homepage is down.
>


Thanks for the heads up on this. I am not the _server_ administrator
(although I think as of today I might have to be), and I just found
out that there is a misconfiguration in the way the name is resolved.
Did you type nextblock.com, www.nextblock.com or atlas.nextblock.com.
Both www and atlas take you there, without the subdomain it's a 404.
Grrrr!

--
Adrienne Boswell at work
Administrator nextBlock.com
http://atlas.nextblock.com/files/
Please respond to the group so others can share

   
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Re: Possibly OT - Invitation
Old
  (#6)
Big Bill
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Possibly OT - Invitation - 06-02-2007, 08:51 PM

On 24 May 2007 11:24:07 -0700, Adrienne Boswell <EMAIL REMOVED>
wrote:

>
>canadafred wote:
>> > I am inviting you ...

>>
>> Yep, I had a feeling this guy was a spammer

>
>Nope, it's an invitation, just like I said. I've been reading and
>posting to this group since 2001.
>
>And... I'm not a guy


I was gonna tells'em, 'onest, I was!

BB
--

http://www.kruse.co.uk/internet-mark...l-business.htm
http://www.kruse.co.uk/internet-marketing-uk.htm
http://www.crystal-liaison.com/giving/
   
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Re: Possibly OT - Invitation
Old
  (#7)
Jezsta Web Productions
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Possibly OT - Invitation - 06-02-2007, 08:51 PM

"Big Bill" <EMAIL REMOVED> wrote in message
news:EMAIL REMOVED...
> On 24 May 2007 11:24:07 -0700, Adrienne Boswell <EMAIL REMOVED>
> wrote:
>
>>
>>canadafred wote:
>>> > I am inviting you ...
>>>
>>> Yep, I had a feeling this guy was a spammer

>>
>>Nope, it's an invitation, just like I said. I've been reading and
>>posting to this group since 2001.
>>
>>And... I'm not a guy

>
> I was gonna tells'em, 'onest, I was!


I told him.:-)

Stacey

--
SEO - Web Design
http://jezsta.com/
Article - Internet Marketing Wholesale Drop Shipping
http://jezsta.com/internet-marketing...opshipping.htm


   
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Re: Possibly OT - Invitation
Old
  (#8)
Denise
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Possibly OT - Invitation - 06-02-2007, 08:51 PM

"Adrienne Boswell" <EMAIL REMOVED> wrote in message
news:EMAIL REMOVED oups.com...
>
> Denise wote:
>> "Adrienne Boswell" <EMAIL REMOVED> wrote in message
>> news:EMAIL REMOVED oups.com...
>> >
>> > I am inviting you to list your business (products/services), or your
>> > client's business (with their permission, of course), with

>
>> >

>> Hi Adrienne,
>>
>> The link in your sig, http://atlas.nextblock.com/files/ returns a 500
>> error;
>> and the homepage is down.
>>

>
> Thanks for the heads up on this. I am not the _server_ administrator
> (although I think as of today I might have to be), and I just found
> out that there is a misconfiguration in the way the name is resolved.
> Did you type nextblock.com, www.nextblock.com or atlas.nextblock.com.
> Both www and atlas take you there, without the subdomain it's a 404.
> Grrrr!
>
> --
> Adrienne Boswell at work
> Administrator nextBlock.com
> http://atlas.nextblock.com/files/
> Please respond to the group so others can share
>


Dear Adrienne, I clicked the link in your sig,
http://atlas.nextblock.com/files/ and got a 500. Then I tried just typing in
nexblock.com (the address you mentioned in the first line of your message.
It came up 404.

best,
Denise


   
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Contact Us - Forum Care Forums - Archive - Top